Loading Events

← Back to Events

Brookline Booksmith

Upcoming Events

January 2020

Transnational Series presents: Javad Djavahery presenting MY PART OF HER in conversation with Emma Ramadan at Brookline Booksmith Used Book Cellar

January 25, 2020 | 7:00 pm
Free

“A searing novel, by Iranian exile Djavahery, of love and betrayal in a time of revolution…. Djavahery’s novel is an aching evocation of paradise lost, one that is impossible to regain, even in our narrator’s searching dreams. Vivid, shattering, and utterly memorable.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review For our unnamed confessor, the summer months spent on the Caspian Sea during the 1970s are a magically transformative experience. There, he is not the “poor relative from the North,” but a welcome guest…

Find out more »

Eric Smith presents DON’T READ THE COMMENTS and Karen McManus presents ONE OF US IS NEXT at Brookline Booksmith Used Book Cellar

January 30, 2020 | 7:00 pm
Free

Slay meets Eliza and Her Monsters in Eric Smith’s Don’t Read the Comments, an #ownvoices story in which two teen gamers find their virtual worlds—and blossoming romance—invaded by the real-world issues of trolling and doxing in the gaming community. Karen McManus’s One of Us is Next is the highly anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestselling thriller everyone is talking about, One of Us Is Lying! There’s a new mystery to solve at Bayview High, and there’s a whole…

Find out more »
February 2020

Helen Fremont presents THE ESCAPE ARTIST at Brookline Booksmith Used Book Cellar

February 11, 2020 | 7:00 pm
Free

In the tradition of Alison Bechdel’s Fun Home or George Hodgman’s Bettyville, Fremont writes with wit and candor about growing up in a household held together by a powerful glue: secrets. Her parents, profoundly affected by their memories of the Holocaust, pass on a penchant for keeping their lives neatly–even obsessively–compartmentalized, as well as a zealous determination to protect themselves from the dangers of the outside world. Helen Fremont is the author of the national bestseller After Long Silence. Her…

Find out more »

Joanna Schaffhausen presents ALL THE BEST LIES at Brookline Booksmith Used Book Cellar

February 13, 2020 | 7:00 pm
Free

The highly anticipated third novel in the award-winning Ellery Hathaway mystery series. FBI agent Reed Markham is haunted by one painful unsolved mystery: who murdered his mother? Camilla was brutally stabbed to death more than forty years ago while baby Reed lay in his crib mere steps away. The trail went so cold that the Las Vegas Police Department gave up hope of solving the case - but then a shattering family secret changes everything Reed knows about his origins;…

Find out more »

Children’s Storytime: Ben Gundersheimer presents LILAH TOV GOOD NIGHT at Brookline Booksmith Store Level

February 23, 2020 | 10:30 am
Brookline Booksmith, 279 Harvard St
Brookline, MA 02446
+ Google Map
Free

As the moon rises, a family steps into the night on a journey toward a new beginning. Along the way their little girl delights in the wonders of nature, saying good night–lilah tov–to the creatures and landscapes they pass. Wherever she looks–on land, in the sky above and even, eventually, in the water below her boat–there are marvels to behold. “Lilah tov to the birds in the trees, lilah tov to the fish in the sea.” When their travels are…

Find out more »

Kerri Maher presents THE GIRL IN THE WHITE GLOVES at Brookline Booksmith Used Book Cellar

February 26, 2020 | 7:00 pm
Free

Grace knows what people see. She’s the Cinderella story. An icon of glamor and elegance frozen in dazzling Technicolor. The picture of perfection. The girl in white gloves. But behind the lens, beyond the panoramic views of glistening Mediterranean azure, she knows the truth. Kerri Maher is the author of The Kennedy Debutante, and This Is Not a Writing Manual: Notes for the Young Writer in the Real World under the name Kerri Majors. She holds an MFA from Columbia…

Find out more »
+ Export Events

Did You Know?

Certain books were “banned in Boston” at least as far back as 1651, when one William Pynchon wrote a book criticizing Puritanism.