Local YA authors take on the fantastic and peculiar at Brookline Booksmith

Do you like fairy tales, the peculiar, the weird, the fantastical, or the just plain fascinating?  Join local YA authors at Brookline Booksmith as they take on the fantastic and the strange. This panel includes PETERNELLE VAN ARSDALE (The Beast is an Animal), M.T. ANDERSON (Landscape with Invisible Hand), LANA POPOVIC (Wicked Like a Wildfire), and GREG KATSOULIS (All Rights Reserved).

Come discover a fairy-tale of soul eaters, a curse on sisters who magically manipulate beauty, a girl who remains silent in a world where every word is copyrighted and paid for, and two teens who fake romance for the entertainment of aliens who have invaded Earth.

This event is free and open to the public.


YA author BENJAMIN ALIRE SAENZ (Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe) at Brookline Booksmith

Brookline Booksmith is pleased to welcome BENJAMIN ALIRE SAENZ, author of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, for a reading and discussion of his latest young adult novel: The Inexplicable Logic of My Life.

Sal used to know his place with his adoptive gay father, their loving Mexican American family, and his best friend, Samantha. But it’s senior year, and suddenly Sal is throwing punches, questioning everything, and realizing he no longer knows himself. If Sal’s not who he thought he was, who is he?

This event is free and open to the public.


Boston Globe journalist/author DICK LEHR (Black Mass) shares his latest

Brookline Booksmith welcomes author of Black Mass, The Fence, and Judgement Ridge DICK LEHR with his newest publication, Trell.

On a hot summer night in the late 1980’s, in the Boston neighborhood of Roxbury, a twelve-year-old African-American girl was sitting on a mailbox talking with her friends when she became the innocent victim of gang-related gunfire.  Amid public outcry, an immediate manhunt was on to catch the murderer, and a young African-American man was quickly apprehended, charged, and — wrongly — convicted of the crime. DICK LEHR, a former reporter for the Boston Globe’s famous Spotlight Team who investigated this case for the newspaper, now turns the story into Trell, a page-turning novel about the daughter of an imprisoned man who persuades a reporter and a lawyer to help her prove her father’s innocence.

Trell is based on true events, and will be released on 9/12/17.

This event is free and open to the public.


Local debut YA novelist LANA POPOVIC in conversation with JILLY GAGNON

Porter Square Books welcomes debut YA author LANA POPOVIC in conversation with Jilly Gagnon, author of #Famous.

Fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo will be bewitched by LANA POPOVIC’s debut YA fantasy novel Wicked Like A Wildfire about a bargain that binds the fates and hearts of twin sisters to a force larger than life.

This event is not ticketed.