Loading Events

←Back

Brookline Booksmith Used Book Cellar

Upcoming Events

Events List Navigation

December 2019

Alex Myers presents CONTINENTAL DIVIDE and Jackson Bird presents SORTED: GROWING UP,COMING OUT, AND FINDING MY PLACE at Brookline Booksmith Used Book Cellar

December 11, 2019 | 7:00 pm
Free

Newly out as transgender, Ron finds himself adrift: kicked out by his family, jilted by his girlfriend, unable to afford to return to college in the fall. So begins Alex Myers’ debut novel Continenental Divide. From there Ron heads out to Wyoming for a new start, a chance to prove that - even though he was raised as a girl, even though everyone in Boston thinks of him as transgender - he can live as a man. Sorted is an…

Find out more »

Mikki Kendall presents AMAZONS, ABOLITIONISTS, AND ACTIVISTS at Brookline Booksmith Used Book Cellar

December 12, 2019 | 7:00 pm
$20

Amazons, Abolitionists, and Activists Join us for a talk and signing with Mikki Kendall to celebrate her new book! Each ticket includes a copy of Amazons, Abolitionists, and Activists: A Graphic History of Women’s Fight for Their Rights. Mikki Kendall is a writer, historian, and diversity consultant who writes about intersectionality, policing, gender, sexual assault, and other current events. Kendall’s nonfiction can be found at Time.com, the Guardian, Washington Post, Ebony, Essence, Salon, XoJane, Bustle, Islamic Monthly, and a host…

Find out more »

Meredith Atwood presents THE YEAR OF NO NONSENSE: HOW TO GET OVER YOURSELF AND ON WITH YOUR LIFE at Brookline Booksmith Used Cellar

December 17, 2019 | 7:00 pm
Free

In The Year of No Nonsense, Atwood shares what she learned, tackling struggles with work, family, and body image, and also willpower and time management. Ultimately, she’s the tough-as-nails coach /slash/ best friend who shares a practical plan for identifying and getting rid of your own nonsense in order to move forward and live an authentic, healthy life. Meredith Atwood is a recovering attorney, wife, mother of two, four-time IRONMAN triathlete who had never run a mile in her life…

Find out more »
January 2020

David Meerman Scott and Reiko Scott present FANOCRACY at Brookline Booksmith Used Book Cellar

January 14, 2020 | 7:00 pm
Free

David Meerman Scott and his daughter Reiko are very different - one is a baby boomer business strategist, the other a millennial medical student. But both noticed that the kind of enthusiasm they once reserved for pleasures like the Grateful Dead (David) and Harry Potter (Reiko) now extends to all sorts of companies and organizations. So they teamed up to explore a big question: Why do some brands, even in supposedly boring categories like car insurance and enterprise software, attract…

Find out more »

Laura McKowen presents WE ARE THE LUCKIEST: THE SURPRISING MAGIC OF A SOBER LIFE at Brookline Booksmith Used Book Cellar

January 15, 2020 | 7:00 pm
Free

What could possibly be “lucky” about addiction? Absolutely nothing, thought Laura McKowen when drinking brought her to her knees. As she puts it, she “kicked and screamed … wishing for something – anything – else” to be her issue. The people who got to drink normally, she thought, were so damn lucky. But in the midst of early sobriety, when no longer able to anesthetize her pain and anxiety, she realized that she was actually the lucky one. Lucky to…

Find out more »

Transnational Series presents: E.J. Koh’s THE MAGICAL LANGUAGE OF OTHERS at Brookline Booksmith Used Book Cellar

January 16, 2020 | 7:00 pm
Free

The Magical Language of Others is a powerful and aching love story in letters, from mother to daughter. After living in America for over a decade, Eun Ji Koh’s parents return to South Korea for work, leaving fifteen-year-old Eun Ji and her brother behind in California. Overnight, Eun Ji finds herself abandoned and adrift in a world made strange by her mother’s absence. Her mother writes letters, in Korean, over the years seeking forgiveness and love–letters Eun Ji cannot fully…

Find out more »

Joseph Finder presents HOUSE ON FIRE at Brookline Booksmith Used Book Cellar

January 21, 2020 | 7:00 pm
Free

Nick Heller is at the top of his game when he receives some devastating news: his old army buddy Sean has died of an overdose. Sean, who once saved Nick’s life, got addicted to opioids after returning home wounded from war. Then at Sean’s funeral, a stranger approaches Nick with a job, and maybe also a way for Nick to hold someone accountable. Joseph Finder is the New York Times bestselling author of fifteen previous novels, including Judgment, The Switch,…

Find out more »

Transnational Series presents: Javad Djavahery presenting MY PART OF HER in conversation with Emma Ramadan at Brookline Booksmith Used Book Cellar

January 25, 2020 | 7:00 pm
Free

“A searing novel, by Iranian exile Djavahery, of love and betrayal in a time of revolution…. Djavahery’s novel is an aching evocation of paradise lost, one that is impossible to regain, even in our narrator’s searching dreams. Vivid, shattering, and utterly memorable.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review For our unnamed confessor, the summer months spent on the Caspian Sea during the 1970s are a magically transformative experience. There, he is not the “poor relative from the North,” but a welcome guest…

Find out more »

Eric Smith presents DON’T READ THE COMMENTS and Karen McManus presents ONE OF US IS NEXT at Brookline Booksmith Used Book Cellar

January 30, 2020 | 7:00 pm
Free

Slay meets Eliza and Her Monsters in Eric Smith’s Don’t Read the Comments, an #ownvoices story in which two teen gamers find their virtual worlds—and blossoming romance—invaded by the real-world issues of trolling and doxing in the gaming community. Karen McManus’s One of Us is Next is the highly anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestselling thriller everyone is talking about, One of Us Is Lying! There’s a new mystery to solve at Bayview High, and there’s a whole…

Find out more »
February 2020

Helen Fremont presents THE ESCAPE ARTIST at Brookline Booksmith Used Book Cellar

February 11, 2020 | 7:00 pm
Free

In the tradition of Alison Bechdel’s Fun Home or George Hodgman’s Bettyville, Fremont writes with wit and candor about growing up in a household held together by a powerful glue: secrets. Her parents, profoundly affected by their memories of the Holocaust, pass on a penchant for keeping their lives neatly–even obsessively–compartmentalized, as well as a zealous determination to protect themselves from the dangers of the outside world. Helen Fremont is the author of the national bestseller After Long Silence. Her…

Find out more »

Joanna Schaffhausen presents ALL THE BEST LIES at Brookline Booksmith Used Book Cellar

February 13, 2020 | 7:00 pm
Free

The highly anticipated third novel in the award-winning Ellery Hathaway mystery series. FBI agent Reed Markham is haunted by one painful unsolved mystery: who murdered his mother? Camilla was brutally stabbed to death more than forty years ago while baby Reed lay in his crib mere steps away. The trail went so cold that the Las Vegas Police Department gave up hope of solving the case - but then a shattering family secret changes everything Reed knows about his origins;…

Find out more »

Kerri Maher presents THE GIRL IN THE WHITE GLOVES at Brookline Booksmith Used Book Cellar

February 26, 2020 | 7:00 pm
Free

Grace knows what people see. She’s the Cinderella story. An icon of glamor and elegance frozen in dazzling Technicolor. The picture of perfection. The girl in white gloves. But behind the lens, beyond the panoramic views of glistening Mediterranean azure, she knows the truth. Kerri Maher is the author of The Kennedy Debutante, and This Is Not a Writing Manual: Notes for the Young Writer in the Real World under the name Kerri Majors. She holds an MFA from Columbia…

Find out more »
+ Export Events

Did You Know?

Certain books were “banned in Boston” at least as far back as 1651, when one William Pynchon wrote a book criticizing Puritanism.